SWGOH Farewell

Dear All,

It is with a sense of sadness, but also a sense of great personal achievement, that I write this.

It is almost a year since I started playing SWGOH, and I’m sure many of you know that I have been heavily invested in the game and the community for the majority of that time. What you will not know is that I have also suffered from depression and addiction during that time too. You will probably not know that until recently I was unemployed, and that all of the money I spent on this game was money that I lied to get and borrowed from members of my family. The truth is, this game and games like it are specifically designed to take advantage of people like myself, who have a personality where they will get addicted to it and then once they are hooked it just gets worse.

The long and short of it is that I now owe my mother and grandparents over £20,000. The reason I am writing this is because I don’t want anyone else who is suffering or has a tendency to become addicted to fall into the trap that I did. I am now in a place where I have a lot of help and support and only now, almost one year on am I able to reflect and see this for what it truly was, a viscous and malicious technique employed by the games companies to get our money.

It is at this point that I want to thank everybody that I have ever had the pleasure of meeting through this game. There are two main communities that I have been a part of, and I will start by talking about LordSkunk and the discord community. When I first started the game, I watched several people on YouTube, people like Jedi Master Alien and Scoregasm. I then found the LordSkunk channel, and I realised that I wanted to be able to help people like he did. It was then that I joined the discord and began to contribute, offering my knowledge to anyone who wanted it and making content for the live shows. In a time in my life where I felt incredibly alone this allowed me to have a purpose and feel good about helping people. So with this in mind, I would like to extend my thanks to everyone on the discord server, especially LordSkunk himself and Grandepatron, Kelthuzad and all the other admins. There are too many of you to name but just know that you really made a difference to me.

Next I want to talk about Team Instinct. The top guild in the game (as I’m sure they will prove again once guild v guild drops). Never before have I met a group of people so dedicated to the pursuit of combined knowledge. It was my privilege to be a part of their family, and I wish them all the very best in the future. Most of them have the expendable income available to spend and support this game, and whilst that may seem strange to me now, they are not suffering because of it and if it gives them enjoyment, that’s their own choice and I respect them for doing it! I give thanks to every single one of them, but namely barrok(who recruited me), yoyoyoda(my original idol), naecabon (at one point we had the number 1 and 2 accounts in the world, but I could never beat you!) and Ovechkin (someone I was truly able to confide in and trust). Again there are too many to name, but every single one of you has made a big difference to me.
The good news is that I was able to own up to my family and get the support and help that I needed, and I’m now in a much better place mentally. The final step of my recovery was to get rid of the app, and this week I was able to do so. However, I wanted to try and do something positive for someone else, and so I gave my account to a really great kid who I used to help. He is FTP and makes YouTube videos and I know he’ll make use of it without spending anything so I was very glad to be able to donate it to a worthy cause!

I have not tried to sell my account, because I now see that it holds no value to me and I can’t ask anyone else to pay for it on those grounds. However, I am aware that people that I have tried to help over the last year or people I have become close with may wish to donate to me, and as such the link below will allow you to donate to me if you wish to help me recover some of the money I now owe to my family.

https://www.paypal.com/uk/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_flow&SESSION=De8ut9CEuKDM7mpIzhmWS9SyWQAeZWy2oxMcmZROgqaFKM_VI9Fvjvv_dy0&dispatch=5885d80a13c0db1f8e263663d3faee8d4fe1dd75ca3bd4f11d72275b28239088

Once again, thank you to everyone who has helped me and given me the strength to carry on.

Yours sincerely,

Tom

Leave a Reply

